google-i/o-2024-live-blog:-latest-news-on-android,-gemini,-and-search

Google I/O 2024 Live Blog: Latest News on Android, Gemini, and Search

Welcome to the WIRED live blog for the Google I/O 2024 keynote address. We have a few reporters at I/O in Mountain View, California: senior writers Lauren Goode and Paresh Dave, senior reviews editor Julian Chokkattu, and staff writer Reece Rogers. Along with senior writer Will Knight and editorial director Michael Calore (who will be watching from their desks, remotely), the team will provide live updates and commentary once we’re underway.

Google’s presentation will get started at 10 am Pacific, 1 pm Eastern, 6 pm UK time.

That’s a Wrap on the Google I/O Keynote!

I also did a tally, Pichai. By my count, there were roughly over 40 services announced today at I/O. But only about eight of them are actually available starting today. The rest are coming this week, June, July, this summer (North American), coming weeks, coming months, soon, later this year, late this year, second half of this year, sometime in 2025, or in the future.

Mentions of AI in keynote: 121

Mentions of OpenAI in keynote: 0.

But not forgotten!

Pichai asks Gemini to count how many mentions of AI were in the keynote. Har!

Leave a Reply